Paddon takes Rally of Otago title (NZRC)

Hayden PaddonDefending Vantage New Zealand Rally champion Hayden Paddon has won the 2009 Southern Cross Rally of Otago after a two-day duel with early series leader Richard Mason.

Winning by a margin of 19.7 seconds after 255 kilometres of competition over a mixture of forestry and county roads in central and southern Otago, the final day of six special stages was a climatic finish.
Read more

McRae holds Classic lead in Otago Rally

Alister McRaeThe Flying Scotsman, Alister McRae, holds a commanding lead after the first day of the Dunlop International Classic Rally of Otago in Dunedin.

Driving a Ford Escort RS1800, McRae and co-driver, Erin Kyle, hold a one minute and 34 second lead over the Nissan-powered Escort of Derek Ayson, while Brad Goldsbrough is the first of the Australians in third place in his Datsun 1600.
Read more

Mason takes lead in Otago Rally

Richard MasonToday’s first day in the 2009 Southern Cross Hotel Rally of Otago has seen a close battle between defending series champion Hayden Paddon and current leader Richard Mason swing the way of the challenger late in the afternoon.

The second of five rounds in the Vantage New Zealand Rally Championship (NZRC), the two-day rally uses a mixture of forest and county roads around Dunedin in central Otago.
Read more

Preview: Dunlop Classic Rally of Otago

Otago Classic RallyThe field for the Dunlop International Classic Rally of Otago may be a little thinner in terms of overseas drivers than in past years, but the form guide hints that the battle for victory could be just as intense as always.

Last year’s winner, Finnish star Pasi Hagstrom, is not competing this year, but his place in the field has been taken by one of the legendary McRae clan – Alister.
Read more