Preview: Rally of Otago, NZRC round 2

Hayden PaddonFormer champion, and round one winner, Richard Mason, will start the Rally of Otago eager to build on his points haul in this year’s New Zealand Rally Championship.

Mason delivered the first blow in his battle with 2008 NZ Champion, Hayden Paddon, in the Hawke’s Bay Rally, taking victory ahead of former Dunedin girl Emma Gilmour, and the experienced Geof Argyle.
Read more

Buist returns in BDA-powered Corolla

Deane Buist2007 Otago Classic Rally winner, Deane Buist, returns to the event this year, hoping to repeat the success he tasted two years ago.

Buist won the 2007 rally driving a Ford Escort RS1800, but sold the car not long afterwards. He returned to defend his title last year, but at the wheel of a Toyota Corolla powered by the popular BDA engine.
Read more

Alister McRae for Otago Classic Rally

Alister McRaeFormer British Rally Champion, Alister McRae, will be the headline act at this year’s Otago Classic Rally, to be held in New Zealand’s south island in mid-May.

McRae contested the Otago Rally at the wheel of a Subaru Impreza WRX in 2007, but will return in 2009 in a Ford Escort RS1800 prepared by Christchurch’s Bryce Biggs.
Read more